Program: EDUCATION, MUSIC K-12

Develop your ability to read, understand, perform, and create music.

B.S.Ed.

Offerings in music are designed to provide you with the necessary skills and knowledge to read, understand, perform, and create music. The curriculum accommodates students who are preparing for careers in the teaching of music and/or church music ministry. Ensemble and individual performing experiences are provided at all levels. The combined academic and performance skills developed should ideally enhance your aesthetic appreciation of music. A minor in Music requires 24-26 semester hours of coursework.

 

Curriculum: B.S. Ed.
Faculty: Dr. L. Darwin Brooks, Associate Professor of Music
B.M., Union University
M.C.M., Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
M.M., D.A., University of Mississippi
dbrooks@bmc.edu
  William H. Curry, Associate Director of Bands & Instructor of Music
B.M.E., Mississippi State University
M.M., University of Mississippi
wcurry@bmc.edu
  Brandon Hardin, Director of Bands & Assistant Professor of Music
B.M.E., Delta State University
M.M., Southern Oregon University
M.M., New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary
Director of Bands & Assistant Professor Music
bhardin@bmc.edu
  Dr. Jerri Lamar Kantack, Associate Professor of Music
B.M., M.M., University of Mississippi
D.M.A., University of Alabama
jkantack@bmc.edu
  Dr. Gregory W. Long, Chair of the Department of Fine Arts & Professor of Music
B.M., Mississippi College
M.M., University of Cincinnati, College - Conservatory of Music
D.M.A., University of South Carolina
glong@bmc.edu
  Laura Patton Long, Instructor of Music
B.M., University of Memphis
M.Div., Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
llong@bmc.edu